Evaluation criteria and rating matrix

A guiding matrix on project performance rating for evaluations

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Development Assistance Committee (DAC) first laid out the evaluation criteria (relevance, effectiveness, efficiency, impact and sustainability) in the 1991 OECD DAC Principles for Evaluation of Development Assistance, and later defined the terms in the 2002 Glossary of Key Terms in Evaluation and Results Based Management. These five criteria have come to serve as the core reference for evaluating international development and humanitarian projects, programmes and policies

Our evaluations assess the projects with respect to a minimum set of evaluation criteria based on the OECD/DAC guidelines for evaluation. The evaluation provides individual ratings for the evaluation criteria. Criteria are rated on a six-point scale as follows:
  • Highly Satisfactory;
  • Satisfactory;
  • Moderately Satisfactory;
  • Moderately Unsatisfactory;
  • Unsatisfactory and;
  • Highly Unsatisfactory.
Our evaluation experts have developed a matrix providing guidance on what aspects we consider in determining the most appropriate rating to give project performance, i.e. from Highly Satisfactory to Highly Unsatisfactory, under the various evaluation criteria.
Download tool
You want to make an impact. We are here to help you achieve your goals.

ENV provides consulting services and ideas for organizations working to create sustainable change.